# **Cross-Party Group Minutes**

## **Meeting Minutes:**

Cross Party Group Title:	Welsh Wool
Date of Meeting:	11/10/2023
Location:	Pierhead Building, Senedd

#### In attendance:

Name:	Title:
Cefin Campbell MS	( <i>Chair</i> ) Member of the Senedd
Samuel Kurtz MS	Member of the Senedd
Luke Fletcher MS	Member of the Senedd
Sioned Williams MS	Member of the Senedd
Llyr Gruffydd MS	Member of the Senedd
Russell George MS	Member of the Senedd
Andrew RT Davies MS	Member of the Senedd
Rhun ap Iorwerth	Member of the Senedd
Sian Gwenllian MS	Member of the Senedd
Elin Jones MS	Member of the Senedd
Jane Dodds MS	Member of the Senedd
Sam Rowlands MS	Member of the Senedd
Carolyn Thomas MS	Member of the Senedd
James Evans MS	Member of the Senedd
Gareth Davies MS	Member of the Senedd

Joel James MS	Member of the Senedd
Peredur Owen Griffiths MS	Member of the Senedd
Rhys ab Owen MS	Member of the Senedd
Jacqui Pearce	(Secretariat) Welsh Wool Alliance
Bill Clark	Welsh Livery of Woolmen
Rob Davies	RWAS Shearing Committee
Clare Johns	Clare Johns Label
Gareth Jones	British Wool
Julie Leonard	The Welsh Girl
Chrissie Menzies	Wonderwool
Jane Bissett	Glamorgan Smallholders
Rosamund Black	Museum of Welsh Textiles
Kevin Caplin	CaplinTee Limited
David Critchley	Museum of Welsh Textiles
Catherine Davies	Teilwr Bach
Anna Felton	Welsh Wool Company
Jennifer Goslin	Monmouthshire Wool
Helen Hickman	Nellie and Eve
Eleanor Hunt	The Woolen Cwtch Company
Ruth Packham	Ruth Packham Ltd
Suzi Park	Cambrian Wool
Vicky Phillips	Dartridge Sheep
L	

Catrin Roberts	Amgueddfa Cymru
Karen Roberts	Fflwff
Eleanor Russell	Glamorgan Smallholders
Elanor Smallcombe	Tyddyn Bryn
Sharon Smith	Wild Welsh Wool
Laura Thomas	Laura Thomas Woven Textiles
Martyn Wait	Knit365
Ann Whittall	National Museum Wales
Gillian Williams	The Welsh Woolshed
Emma Davan Handarson	Emma Davan
Emma Bevan-Henderson	Emma Bevan
Zoe Howells	Carmarthen College of Art
Sarah Martindale	Sarah Martindala Photography
	Sarah Martindale Photography
Debby Mercer	Ffynnon Fibres
Mandy Nash	Mandy Nash
Genevieve Ososki	Glamorgan Guild of Spinners
Christopher Price	Rare Breeds Survival Trust
Arwen Roberts	Gower Flax
Jodie Robson	The Welsh Woolshed
Haydn Sinclair	Wonky Weaver
Christopher Smejkal	Welsh Fibre Company
Karen Stangroom	Conquer Crochet
Lowri Thomas	Llaeth Meillionen Milk
Jan Tiley	Glamorgan Guild of Weavers
Adrienne Titley	Fibreshed Wales

## **Apologies:**

Name:	Title:
Delyth Jewell MS	Member of the Senedd
Mike Hedges MS	Member of the Senedd

### Summary of Meeting:

This meeting of the Cross-Party Group on Welsh Wool was held in the Pierhead Building, Cardiff Bay, and the meeting took for of the 'Wool Eisteddfod' – providing an opportunity for Senedd Members to engage with a range of stakeholders and businesses from the wool industry in Wales.

The meeting was opened by Cefin Campbell MS, Chair of the Welsh Wool CPG, who welcome everyone to the meeting and gave an outline of the importance of wool to Wales' rural communities and economy. Cefin Campbell was followed by Jacqui Pearce, secretariat of the group, who provided a short contribution, again outlining the vast potential of Welsh Wool, together with outlining the purpose of the awards. A total of 200 entries were had for the event, and 21 finalists, The eventual award winners in the 7 categories were as follows:

- WOOL GROWER THE WELSH WOOL SHED
- WOOL DESIGNER LLIO JAMES
- WOOL WONDER CAPLIN TEC
- WOOL BUSINESS CAMBRIAN WOOL
- WOOL COMMUNITY NATIONAL WOOL MUSEUM
- WOOL CREATIVE LAURA THOMAS TEXTILES
- WOOL WILD CARD WOOL COFFINS

On behalf of the CPG, Cefin Campbell introduced the awards to the successful businesses/representatives.

Following the end of the presentation ceremony an opportunity was had for the stakeholders and businesses to interact and engage with MS' regarding their work in wool and the future of the industry in Wales.